are you ready for your mug shot? mug cake.

Today, I happened to stumble upon this recipe for Paleo Mug Cake a la The Wannabe Chef, and my oh my am I happy that I did. It was perfect because I was craving something that screamed CHOCOLATE and did I get it.

Imagine a single serving cake-like brownie that is actually pretty healthy. Well, my friends, you have come to the right place because this is it. And I don’t know about the rest of y’all out there but I will definitely be making this again when the afternoon dessert craving strikes.

The creator of this recipe calls it paleo, and I’ve been seeing that word thrown around a lot on health food blogs recently. Honestly….I thought paleo was a brand….or something. Until I Googled it and realized that it’s a way of eating. Paleo is basically getting down to our hunter and gatherer ancestor roots with a contemporary twist. No, to eat paleo, you don’t have to go out and hunt your own food or risk your life eating an unknown type of berry, only to find it to be nightlock (sorry, still got Hunger Games on the brain 😉 ). Essentially, eating paleo focuses on very lean meats, lots of plant-based foods – like fruits, veggies, and nuts – and consuming very little dairy and carbohydrates. In my opinion, it seems similar to a low-carb diet while also eliminating processed foods and refined sugars. I do love the idea of eating foods only in their whole form, which I realized I actually do a good job of about 90% of the time, but I’m going to have to do a lil more research on this paleo thing. I do enjoy reading up on these food fads, however, but in the mean time – whether or not you follow a paleo diet – this mug cake is totally rad.

Slam it all down with a lil goblet of almond milk, and you got one happy and satisfied Miss RD 😉

Chocolate Mug-Shot Cake

Taken and altered from Paleo Mug Cake a la Wannbe Chef

1 ripe banana

1 1/2 tablespoons peanut butter (or any nut butter)

1 egg white

2 tbsp. dark cocoa powder

Sweetener to taste, I used a lil stevia (optional)

Chocolate chips! Dried fruit! Sprinkles! Booze if you want a happy hour-esque treat! (optional)

With a fork, mash the banana until smooth. Mix in the peanut butter, egg white, cocoa powder, and sweetener, if desired into the banana smoosh until it is evenly incorporated.

Fold in any mix-in that you’d like into the batter. Otherwise, pour the batter into a mug or other microwave safe container. Only fill the container up to 2/3rds of the way because it will get BIG in the microwave!

Microwave on high for about 2 1/2-3 minutes or until the center is set. Remove from the micro and eat cold, hot, or room temperature. DEVOUR.

2 thoughts on “are you ready for your mug shot? mug cake.

Leave a Reply

